Hustle While You Wait

image

You remember Aurora of the fairy tale Sleeping Beauty, right? I’m sure you all know her magical love story—met Prince Philip in the woods, fell in love with him, cursed into a deep sleep by Maleficence, locked away in a tower, saved by true love’s kiss and then boom—she lived happily ever after. How lucky of Princess Aurora. She only had to sleep her way through her happy ending. Ladies, how many of you would like that? If you’re raising your hand right there, then let me break the news as gently as possible: It doesn’t work that way!

One of the best lessons I learned from Joshua Harris’ book “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” is to hustle while we wait. What does that even mean? Well, while reading through that page, he reminded me of how God has entrusted us with gifts and talents. But the question we need to carefully ponder on is that are we putting them to good use? Are we guarding and using them wisely or are we just sitting and lying around waiting to be swept off our feet by a prince charming preferably riding in a shining silver Volvo? Oops. I am guilty as charged!

Truthfully speaking, I used to have the “Sleeping Beauty” plague in me (and no denying, even up to now). One instance is my low interest in learning how to cook. I thought maybe I’ll just deal with cooking once I get married. Good thing I got hold of Michelle McKinney Hammond’s book “What To Do Until Love Finds You” (a book I highly recommend ya’ll single ladies read) before it was too late.  She had me changing my off beam perception with this point:

There is nothing like the thought of a wonderful meal to make a man hurry home. It’s that oasis effect. The more of an oasis you create, the more your man will enjoy spending time close to home, close to you.

Uhm. Okay. That left me speechless for some time after reflecting how I probably wouldn’t be able to bring a good meal to the table. Hammond shed me a new light: If I don’t learn while I’m still single, then when? Better hustle while I wait!

This brings us to a wrap-up that even though we are uncertain with the next step regarding our romantic relationships, we still have work to do—and I mean a lot of work! We have bad habits to change, good habits to practice, and character to build. We have to hustle!

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time.” (Ephesians 5:15-16, NKJV)

Harris wrote: “When we focus on ‘redeeming the time,’ we’ll not only make themost of each moment; we’ll also prepare ourselves for the next season of our lives. Our faithfulness in small things today earns us the right to handle bigger responsibilities down the road.”

 So yeah. This had me cooking lately while my mom is away for a month. It’s not like I have a choice. My sister and I take turns in cooking but with this arrangement, I’m using the opportunity and time to cook.image

Ladies, I guess we’ll have to shoo away our inner “Sleeping Beauty” now and put our God-given talents and gifts to good use. Let’s be productive during this season of waiting. Let’s leave the ‘sleeping’ behind and keep the beauty instead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

