The Emotera Woman

image

 

Truth be told, I don’t know how I will clearly talk about this. I only know so little about the facts of emotions (I have yet to read Paulsen’s Emotional Purity book) but I’m pretty sure I have a lot of them because I am in fact an epitome of an emotional woman—okay, that’s exaggerated right there…I’m not, really.

emotional

Let’s see, I cry over frustrations, I cry over movies, I cry over tragedies, I cry over little things sometimes, like seriously non-sense ones. I get so emotional about love and feelings and all the other stuff that are just so heartwarming. And can I just mention how all of those emotions heighten even more when I’m on my period? Gaaah. So emotera teh!

If a man’s struggle are his eyes, a woman’s struggle are actually her emotions. More often than not, we let our emotions lead the way in how we respond to things. That’s why if you notice, we girls tend to easily “fall in love”.

“What? That’s not true!”

Well, let me show you.

Exhibit A: He just gave you a smile (and maybe with a wink) and your heart starts skipping beats. Sparks fly and all throughout the day he is all you could ever think about. You are definitely…without a doubt…in love. It started with a smile.

Exhibit B: He just sent you one text message (probably a group message) and you’re all giddy and hopping all around, shrieking like a little baby, almost going cray-cray because of so much happiness. It started with just one text message.

Exhibit C: He starts taking you out to dinner giving you a wonderful night filled with amusing conversations and dreamy smiles. You maintain your poise but you know deep inside how much your heart is bursting with bliss you might as well just jump off the cliff. It all started with one dinner.

Okay, I can go on with this but I have a feeling I’ll need to write a book if I’m going to put all the scenarios of how emotions act like the boss sometimes. You know what, there’s nothing wrong with all of these. I mean, God created us with emotions. We are all designed to feel that way especially when such “situations” happen in our life. But here’s the thing: If we put our emotions on a pedestal all the time, it might just become the reason of our downfall a.k.a heartbreak.

Because we tend to become too emotional, we easily give our hearts the same way how easily men could hand you a box of chocolates to captivate you. And so, this is the time when we must carefully guard our hearts for everything you do flows from it (Proverbs 4:23).

When you’re caught in a very emotional and overwhelming situation, seek God first. Ask Him what he thinks of it and let Him be the boss. For He says in Isaiah 55:8-9, ” For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. He even says, “I have plans to prosper you, and not to harm you…” (Jeremiah 29:11)  

He does not want us to get hurt with our hasty and maybe even irrational decisions. He has great plans for us. We just need to claim it by faith. So if God tells you a big NO (to a guy you like), better steer away from it even though it might sting you. You’ll thank God later on how He had spared you from a bigger heartbreak.

There’s so much to talk about emotions. Until then, when emotions get in the way, be on guard with your heart. 

Leave a Reply

